facebook-pixel facebook-pixel

the 4cs

The 4Cs serve as the pillars in evaluating diamonds. Carat weight measures size, color assesses hue, clarity examines flaws, and cut determines brilliance. Together, these factors define a diamond’s worth in the market, reflecting its unique beauty and rarity.

4C’s of diamond grading

The ultimate guide


The weight of a diamond is measured in carats, with one carat equivalent to 200 milligrams. Carat size influences a diamond's rarity and value in the world of gemmology.

0,05 Ct

2,5 mm

0,10 Ct

3,0 mm

0,20 Ct

3,8 mm

0,25 Ct

4,1 mm

0,30 Ct

4,5 mm

0,40 ct

4,8 mm

0,50 ct

5,2 mm

0,70 ct

5,8 mm

0,90 Ct

6,3 mm

1,00 Ct

6,5 mm

1,25 Ct

6,9 mm

1,50 Ct

7,4 mm

1,75 Ct

7,8 mm

2,00 Ct

8,2 mm

2,50 Ct

2,5 mm

3,00 Ct

9,4 mm


In gemmology, the color of a diamond is graded on a scale from D to Z, assessing its degree of colorlessness or presence of yellow-brown tint. This evaluation influences its value.

d - f


g - j

near colorless

k - m

slightly tinted

n - r

very light color

s - z

light color


Clarity evaluates a diamond’s freedom from internal and external clarity characteristics which occurred during formation, polishing, or wear and tear

clarity 5

Internally Flawless

clarity 1

Very Very Slightly Included

clarity 2

Very Slightly Included

clarity 3

Slightly Included

clarity 4



The cut of a diamond is crucial, determining its brilliance and sparkle. A well-crafted cut enhances light reflection, showcasing the diamond's quality and creating a mesmerizing play of brilliance.

Tolkowsky Diamond Proportions 1
Light Return
live return 1

Too Shallow

live return 2

Too deep

live return 3

excellent to good

Light Return
Frame 48095934

ideal - excellent to very good